I Went In For Arrows, I Came Out With An Archery Shop.

It was a day like any other.  I took a few minutes during lunch to peruse Craigslist and view the latest treasures people were hawking.  I spotted an ad for used arrows.  Now I have more arrows than I need, but I know some friends who needed to fill some gaps in their dozens, so I dialed up the number and made an appointment.  Turns out the arrows were amongst the foreclosed remains of an archery business.  Sad to see such a thing happen, but what are you gonna do? I looked through what must have been a hundred arrows, only to find a single one that was of value to me. It was the realtor for the property who posted the ad and made the appointment with me. All the while I sorted through arrows, he asked about how involved I was in archery and other related small talk. I obliged and we built a quick rapport with each other.

“You need a bow press?” He adds.

“Well, I’ll take a look” I respond.  We head over to the repair shop room of the building where a couple presses stood, along with a nearly complete bow repair shop. He quotes me a price and I spot some other tools and parts I could use.  Again, he quotes a price.  All of which are very good. I make mental notes and calculations of what this may cost me when he blurts out,

“How ‘bout the whole room for $500?” My heart’s pace begins to pick up.  I know it’s worth it. I start to think about how to quickly gather some cash.  In the meantime, we walk around the rest of the building.  The realtor continues to point at various archery related items scattered about and quote prices.  Again, all of which are good.  After a few more minutes of this, he looks at me and asks,

“How ‘bout the entire contents of the building for $1500?”  Now my heart is racing.  Said contents are well worth the asking price. And I think I can get the money.  And whether I want the stuff or not, I can make back the investment with plenty to spare.  The problem now would lie in the logistics of removal and storage of said contents.  A few quick phone calls, about a hundred cell phone photographs, and a hand written bill of sale later, I became the owner of a bow repair shop, indoor archery range accoutrements, barware and furniture of all sorts, and so much more that I don’t even know about yet.  But it’s more than just dollars and cents.  My basement bow shop is now nearly complete, and far better than I ever imagined.  And I will be able to purchase any additional needs with the sales of all remaining items.

I know I’ve been neglecting my blog for the last few weeks. But I think I have a pretty good excuse. Christmas, kids birthday parties, and buying arrows on Craigslist will do that to a guy.

Categories: Do It Yourself, Hunting | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I Went In For Arrows, I Came Out With An Archery Shop.

  1. kurt

    God works in mysterious ways – awesome!

  2. Carri Hoagland

    Congratulations. Now you will be like me and having to go to the county board for a zoning request for a commercial operation.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

